Skip to main content

VCC Board of Governors welcomes new appointed members

Posted on November 6, 2015

Vancouver, B.C. - Vancouver Community College (VCC) Board of Governors welcomes three new members appointed by the provincial government to the board - Brenda Aynsley, Mike Tourigny, and Dee Dhaliwal. Board members Claire Marshall and Chloe Choi were reappointed until December 31, 2016.

Aynsley is the VP of Resource Development at the United Way of the Lower Mainland (UWLM). She was previously the Executive Director of Thompson Nicola Cariboo United Way for 11 years and area manager for the Heart and Stroke Foundation of BC and Yukon. She has been honoured for her community work - she is a recipient of a Queens Diamond Jubilee Medal for community service and a recipient of a City of Kamloops Pioneer Spirit Award. She is a current nominee for a RBC Women of Influence award.

Tourigny practiced law in Vancouver as a corporate commercial litigator for over 30 years. He worked with McMillan LLP and was an active member of the BC Law Society Pro Bono legal advice program. During his tenure as a partner Mike spent over 10 years on the management committee of the Vancouver office of the partnership, including 6 years as managing partner of the western division of Lang Michener LLP.

Dhaliwal is Publisher of The Vancouver Courier and Westender newspapers (Glacier Media) and formerly worked as Director of Sales and Marketing with North Shore News. Earlier in her career, she was stationed in London, England working for a communications and publishing company. Active in the community, she served as Chair of North Vancouver Chamber of Commerce, Chair of Business Excellence Awards, Director of Lions Gate Hospital Foundation, and Director of BC Chamber of Commerce and a Director of PCTIA. 

Pam Ryan was elected Board Chair effective November 1, 2015. Ryan was appointed to the board in November 2012 and is Chair of the Human Resources committee.

Learn more about VCC’s Board of Governors.